KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 26 September 2008.

PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman), Miss S J Carey, Mr W V Newman, DL, Mr R Tolputt and Mr M J Vye

OFFICERS: Mr R Dale (School Governance Officer), Ms T Gimber (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

- 9. LEA Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent (Item B1)
 - (1) The Panel agreed to the appointment of Mr D Hamilton instead of Mr D Reid to the Governing Body of Simon Langton Grammar School for Boys as his nomination took precedence under under Guideline (i) and there were insufficient grounds to vary it.
 - (2) The Panel agreed to the appointment of Mr H Lewis instead of Mrs B Cross to the Governing Body of Dunton Green Primary School
 - (3) The Panel agreed to the appointment of Mrs J Macnaghten instead of Mr T Farrage to the Governing Body of Tunbridge Wells High School as her nomination took precedence under under Guideline (i) and there were insufficient grounds to vary it.
 - (4) The Panel noted the following appointments made from the pool of Additional Governors by the Managing Director of Children, Families and Education in consultation with the Chairman:-
 - (a) Mr R Bolsin at Mereworth Community Primary School; and
 - (b) Mr A Ellis at Hersden Community Primary School;
 - (5) The Panel noted the appointments made under delegated powers, in consultation with the Chairman of Ms S Tunnicliffe and Mr H Smith to the interim Governing Body of The New School The Bridge Development.
 - (6) The Panel agreed to consider the following late nominations and to make the appointments requested:-
 - (a) Mr D Ellis to Parkside Community Primary School (Cluster Canterbury City and Country);
 - (b) Mr P Donnay to Kings Hill Primary School (Cluster Malling);
 - (c) Mr R Davis to Linden Grove Primary School (Cluster Ashford 1);
 - (d) Mrs S Butler to Meopham Community Primary School (Cluster Gravesham);

(7) The Panel decided to postpone consideration of Mr D Callahan's nomination to Hawkinge Primary School to enable the Head of School Governance to establish whether he wished to continue.

(8) RESOLVED that:-

- (a) the appointments of Local Authority Governors in Primary, Secondary and Special Schools be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes; and
- (b) the nomination papers and any supporting documentation be provided in the agenda papers in respect of candidates involved in a contested nomination and for Volunteer helpers at a school as covered by Guideline (e).